Productivity…Do You Have It?

August 8, 2011

Before anything, let me say this: It’s AUGUST!

I have no idea where the last seven months have gone. Literally none. When I started here at Sandy Bay, we were in the midst of a cold, snowy winter. Here we are in August, dealing with high humidity and as much rain as I’ve ever seen in a Nova Scotian summer. It’s almost surreal that we’re about to welcome autumn, falling leaves, Halloween, and crisp, cold temperatures to our lives.

Once in a while I feel the need to “take stock” – to look back at the last few months and see what’s really been going on. I did a lot of that last week and I must say, I was pretty impressed. Sure, we’re a small company – but our efforts this year have been anything but. Between new projects, learning new ways of doing things, getting ourselves better known in our own community and our regular in-office jobs, we’ve been a very busy crew! I have to admit that I was a little surprised when I started thinking about it – I knew we kept busy, but I hadn’t realized just how many things we had going on at once.

It made me start thinking about the way we look at productivity in general. Most of us have a sort of built-in gauge that we use to measure our efforts – something that lets us know if we’re on the right track. While you can sometimes ignore it for a while, it always seems to pop back up, somewhat like a gopher in your vegetable garden. “I’m here!” it exclaims, loudly enough to take you off guard. “Don’t forget I’m paying attention to when you planted those carrots!”

My question to you is this: Do you think it’s possible to measure your productivity by means other than those results that are actually tangible? Meaning, can efforts that haven’t yet panned out be counted as productive as say, a sale?

I’m interested to hear what you think!

Leave a Reply

